Rating favorite Gawain Jones took home the first prize at the 120th edition of the Scottish National Chess Championship which took place on 6th – 14th July 2013 at the Victoria Hall in Helensburgh, Scotland.

Jones tied on first place with his compatriot Daniel Gormally but edged him on the first tiebreak criterion. Both players finished on 6.5/9, leaving their closest followers half a point behind.

Hungarian GM Imre Hera obtained third place after obtaining a better tiebreak score than two other contenders that finished with the same 6 points.

GM Matthew Turner was the best Scottish player in the final standings.

Prizes – 1st £2000, 2nd £1000, 3rd £600, 4th £300, 5th £200.

The Scottish Chess Championship is believed to be the oldest continuously run national chess event in the world . The first event was staged in 1884. With the exception of war years, an event has been held every year since.

Official website

Final Standings (top finishers):

1 GM Jones, Gawain C B ENG 2643 6.5
2 GM Gormally, Daniel W ENG 2496 6.5

3 GM Hera, Imre Jr. HUN 2558 6
4 IM Gretarsson, Hjorvar Steinn ISL 2511 6
5 GM Strikovic, Aleksa SRB 2504 6

6 GM Farago, Ivan HUN 2447 5.5

7 GM Hebden, Mark L ENG 2555 5
8 GM Turner, Matthew J SCO 2518 5
9 IM Barnaure, Vlad-Victor ROU 2503 5
10 GM McNab, Colin A SCO 2461 5
11 GM Hoffman, Alejandro ARG 2452 5
12 IM Trent, Lawrence ENG 2420 5

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,