Azerbaijan will hold two round robin tournaments in memory of Vugar Gashimov from 19 to 30 April in Shamkir, Teymur Tushiev of confirmed for Chessdom.

The A Tournament will be a six-player double round robin with Magnus Carlsen (Norway), Fabiano Caruana (Italy), Hikaru Nakamura (USA), Sergey Karjakin (Russia) and local stars Shakhriyar Mamedyarov and Teimour Radjabov.

Draws will not be allowed before move 40 and the top prize will be 100,000 EUR.

The B Tournament will be a ten-player single round robin with the prize fund of 30,000 EUR.

Participants are Rauf Mamedov, Eltaj Safarli, Gadir Guseinov, Vasif Durarbayli, Nijat Abasov (all Azerbaijan), Etienne Bacrot (France), Radoslaw Wojtaszek (Poland), Wang Hao (China), Pavel Eljanov (Ukraine) and the newly crowned European Champion Alexander Motylev (Russia).

The main sponsor is company Synergy.

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,