Zia emerges unbeaten champion
UNB . Dhaka | Update: 22:29, Oct 04, 2014

Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman of Dhaka Mohammedan SC emerged unbeaten champion of the 40th Berger Paints National A Chess after the 13th and final round matches at the Media Centre of Bangladesh Olympic Association on Saturday.

With this title win, Ziaur clinched the national chess crown for 13th times. He was crowned last in 2011.

Ziaur secured 11 points from 13th round matches to clinch the title. In the final round, he played draw against GM Enamul Hossain of Bangladesh Navy.

Ziaur played with black pieces choose Caro-Kan Defense and Eanmul continued to Classical Variation, at 11th moves Enamul offered draw and Ziaur accepted it.

Grandmaster Niaz Murshed of Dhaka Mohammedan SC finished runnerup bagging 10 points who also played draw in the final against International Master Minhazuddin Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy.

Niaz played with white pieces against Queen’s Indian Defense of Minhaz. At 13th moves Niaz offered drew and Minhaz accepted it.

GM Enamul Hossain and his teammate last year champion GM Abdullah Al-Rakib will play for 3rd- 4th place deciding play-off match. They earned 9.5points each. In the last round Rakib beat FM Rezaul Haque of Access Group.

Meanwhile, IM Minhazuddin Ahmed and FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy earned 8.5 points each. They will fight for 5th-6th position in the play-off match.

Uten of Access Group placed 7th securing 7.5 points while Masum Hossain finished 8th bagging 5.5 points.

FM Amin and FM Debaraj Chatterjee of Titas Club earned 5 points each and will fight for the 9th-10th positions in the play-off match.

CM Sohel finished 11th with 3.5 points, FM Rezaul Haque took 12th place earning 3 points, Golam Mostafa Bhuiyan of Sonali Bank Sports and Recreation Club finished 13th with 2.5 points and CM Mahtabuddin Ahmed of Dhaka Mohammedan became 14th with 2 points.

A total of 14 players, including four Grandmasters, one International Master and four FIDE Masters took part in this national event, organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation.

Roll of Honor:

2014- GM Ziaur Rahman
2013-GM Abdullah Al-Rakib
2012- GM Niaz Murshed
2011- GM Ziaur Rahman
2010-IM Minhazuddin Ahmed
2009- GM Ziaur Rahman
2008- GM Ziaur Rahman
2007- GM Abdullah Al Rakib
2006- GM Enamul Hossain
2005- GM Ziaur Rahman
2004- GM Ziaur Rahman
2003- GM Reefat Bin Sattar
2002- GM Ziaur Rahman
2001- GM Ziaur Rahman
2000- GM Reefat Bin Sattar
1999- GM Ziaur Rahman
1998- GM Ziaur Rahman
1997- GM Enamul Hossain
1996- GM Ziaur Rahman
1995- GM Reefat Bin Sattar
1994- GM Ziaur Rahman
1993- GM Reefat Bin Sattar
1992- GM Reefat Bin Sattar
1991- GM Reefat Bin Sattar
1990- FIDE Master Syed Tahmidur Rahman
1989- FIDE Master Rezaul Haque
1988- GM Ziaur Rahman
1987- IM Zillur Rahman
1986- IM Zillur Rahman
1985- Sayed Ahmed Sohel
1984- FIDE Master Younus Hasan
1983- FIDE Master Jamilur Rahman
1982- GM Niaz Murshed
1981- GM Niaz Murshed
1980- GM Niaz Murshed
1979- GM Niaz Murshed
1978- FIDE Master Rezaul Haque
1977- Not held
1976- Dr. Mirza Akmal Hossain
1975- Dr. Mirza Akmal Hossain
1974- Miah Abdus Salek

Source: http://en.prothom-alo.com

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,