March 10th-18th 2015


The Reykjavik Open 2015 will be held for the 30th time from March 10th to March 18th 2015 in Harpa, the 28.000 sqm. concert hall. The 2015 tournament is expected to be very strong and will double as celebration of the 80th birthday of legendary Icelandic Grandmaster and former FIDE president, Fridrik Olafsson.

Last year on the 50 year anniversary, Li Chao prevailed over a strong an diverse field.

In 2014 edition 255 players from 35 countries participated, including 38 grandmasters. Prizes in 2015 will include many special prizes for various ages and rating categories, in addition to the traditional top women prize and main tournament prizes.

The 2014 Edition was voted the 2nd best open tournament in the world by ACP. Only Gibraltar was higher on the list.


The City of Reykjavík has sponsored the tournament since its inception in 1964, when Mikhail Tal won it with a record 12½ points out of 13. The tournament was initially held every two years, but has since 2008 taken place every year. It was closed in its early years, but has been an open event since the 1980s. Throughout its history the Reykjavik Open has featured many of the strongest chess players in the world at the time, including Mikhail Tal, Nona Gaprindashvili, David Bronstein, Vasili Smyslov, Bent Larsen, Friðrik Ólafsson, Mark Taimanov, Lev Polugaevsky, Jan Timman, Victor Korchnoi, Samuel Reshevsky, Anthony Miles, Nigel Short, Hikaru Nakamura, Judit Polgar, Magnus Carlsen, Alexander Grischuk, Fabiano Caruana and Hou Yifan.

The Reykjavík Open has enjoyed such an enviable reputation that more than 200 chess masters registered interest in participating last year and we expect be a similar number of GMs in the 2015 tournament. As in previous years, the goal of organizers to is invite many of the youngest and most promising chess players in the world, as well as the strong women players. 2015 promises to be big and diverse as previous editions!

No. Name FED Rtg (top seeds)

1 GM Navara David CZE 2727
2 GM Jones Gawain C B ENG 2661
3 GM Movsesian Sergei ARM 2659
4 GM Granda Zuniga Julio E PER 2654
5 GM Gupta Abhijeet IND 2632
6 GM Naroditsky Daniel USA 2620
7 GM L Ami Erwin NED 2618
8 GM Van Kampen Robin NED 2612
9 GM Fier Alexandr BRA 2590
10 GM Jussupow Artur GER 2581
11 GM Hansen Eric CAN 2577
12 GM Grandelius Nils SWE 2573
13 GM Brunello Sabino ITA 2568
14 GM Cornette Matthieu FRA 2566
15 GM Rasmussen Allan Stig DEN 2526
16 GM Grover Sahaj IND 2505
17 GM Harika Dronavalli IND 2505
18 IM Idani Pouya IRI 2496
19 GM Colovic Aleksandar MKD 2477
20 GM Galego Luis POR 2462
21 IM Georgiadis Nico SUI 2460
22 IM Bekker-Jensen Simon DEN 2458
23 IM Pulvett Marin Daniel Eduardo VEN 2426
24 IM Norowitz Yaacov USA 2421
25 IM Sequera Paolini Jose Rafael VEN 2413
26 IM Shen Victor USA 2410
27 IM Santiago Yago BRA 2409
28 IM Tania Sachdev IND 2404
29 IM Soors Stef BEL 2401
30 WGM L Ami Alina ROU 2393

Full list:

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,