GM Ray Robson has just re-confirmed his participation in the 2010 SPICE Cup A group. Ray will be heading soon to Turkey for the World Team Championship, followed by Corus in Wijk aan Zee, Holland.

GM Georg Meier (Germany) and GM Jon Ludvig Hammer (Norway) have already confirmed their participation. I am hoping to finalize an agreement with GM Wesley So (Philippines) shortly.

GM Eugene Perelshteyn will also be a part of the A group. This will be his 4th straight time at the SPICE Cup, winning clear first in the inaugural event in November 2007, and winning on tie breaks over GM Bhat and GM Finegold in the 2009 B group.

The format of the A group will once again be a 6-player DRR (category 16 or 17) event. The B group will be a 10-player (category 11-12) RR event. We are planning to add a 3rd group for 2010.

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , , , , , , ,