The Bulgarian Individual Chess Championships for men and women were held simultaneously from 10th to 18th May, 2014 in the city of Kozloduy. Both GM Kiril Georgiev and WGM Iva Videnova successfully defended their last year’s titles. This is the 5th title of GM Georgiev from national championships, he also won the trophy in 1984, 1986, 1989, and 2013. The success was also special for WGM Videnova, making her titles 3-in-a-row – 2012, 2013, and 2014.

The 78th Bulgarian championship for men and the 63rd individual competition for women was organized by the Bulgarian Chess Federation and Chess Club “Radetzky”, in collaboration with the Kozloduy Nuclear Power Plant. The format of both events was a 10 player round robin with time control 90 minutes for 40 moves plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game plus 30 second per move starting from move 1.

GM Kiril Georgiev became Bulgarian champion for fifth time with 7/9 points, half a point ahead of the runner upGM Ivan Cheparinov, who collected 6.5/9 points. Cheparinov left the nearest follower 1.5 point behind. GM Atanas Kolev took the bronze with 5/9 points.

The last-year Bulgarian champion GM Kiril Georgiev finished with the impressive performance 2690. This win extended Georgiev’s amazing string of victories, which includes also the strong Karposh Open 2014 just a month ago.

WGM Iva Videnova became 3-peat Bulgarian champion for women after winning 5 consecutive games in the last 5 rounds of the competition. Videnova finished with 7/9 points, leaving the runner-up WIM Elitsa Raeva half a point behind.

Third place was shared by WGM Adriana Nikolova and WGM Margarita Voiska with 5.5/9 points, but Nikolova took the bronze due to her superior tie-break score.

Scroll down for the full standings.

New: Chess Insider magazine in pdf / Classes with WGM Videnova @20 eur/h / Daily challenge with WGM Videnova

Men Section final standings:

1 GM Georgiev Kiril BUL 2632 Lokomotiv, Sofia 7
2 GM Cheparinov Ivan BUL 2686 Lokomotiv, Plovdiv 6,5
3 GM Kolev Atanas BUL 2579 Lokomotiv, Plovdiv 5
4 IM Dimitrov Radoslav BUL 2445 Bulmeks, Veliko Tarnovo 4,5
5 GM Drenchev Petar BUL 2487 Marek Yunion-Ivkoni, Dupnica 4,5
6 GM Nikolov Momchil BUL 2523 Abritus, Razgrad 4,5
7 IM Marholev Dimitar BUL 2348 Lokomotiv, Sofia 4
8 IM Enchev Ivailo BUL 2437 Abritus, Razgrad 3,5
9 GM Arnaudov Petar BUL 2464 CSKA, Sofia 3,5
10 Danov Lyubomir BUL 2257 Yuri Benderev-1912, Pernik 2

Women Section final standings:

1 WGM Videnova Iva BUL 2323 Lokomotiv-2000, Plovdiv 7
2 WIM Raeva Elitsa BUL 2352 Pristis, Ruse 6,5
3 WGM Nikolova Adriana BUL 2319 Lokomotiv-2000, Plovdiv 5,5
4 WGM Voiska Margarita BUL 2292 Lokomotiv, Plovdiv 5,5
5 WIM Yordanova Svetla BUL 2084 Etar, Veliko Tarnovo 5
6 Galunova Tsveta BUL 2030 Maritza Iztok, Radnevo 4,5
7 WCM Radeva Viktoria BUL 1906 Spartak Plovdiv 4
8 Vasova Maria BUL 1978 Asenovec 2006, Asenovgrad 3,5
9 Ivanova Simoneta BUL 2079 Burgas 64, Burgas 2,5
10 WFM Baninska Tania BUL 2029 Marek Yunion Ivconi, Dupnica 1

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , ,