Susan Polgar (USA), Uwe Boensch (GER), Efstratios Grivas (GRE), Adrian Mikhalchishin (SLO), Kirsan Ilyumzhinov (RUS-FIDE President), Zurab Azmaiparashvili (GEO), Arshak Petrosian (ARM)

FIDE Trainers’ Commission – FIDE Trainer Awards 2008-2009
Awarding ceremony took place during the Chess Olympiad

The FIDE Trainers Commission (TRG) is pleased to announce the second FIDE Trainer Awards and will continue by honouring the achievements of our most successful colleagues of 2009. A judges’ panel consisting of seven (7) members, with reputation and knowledge in the field of training, voted for the nominated trainers and authors.


1. Ignatius Leong (Singapore) – FIDE General Secretary
2. Ali Nihat Yazici (Turkey) – FIDE Vice-President
3. Israel Gelfer (Israel) – FIDE Honorary Vice-President
4. Alexandra Kosteniuk (Russia) – GM/FIDE Co-Chairman Women Commission
5. Uwe Boensch (Germany) – GM/FST
6. Jovan Petronic (Serbia) – IM/FST
7. Smbat Lputian (Armenia) – GM/FST

The panel was approved by the FIDE PB (Sofia 2010). The awarding ceremony for both 2008 and 2009 took place during the Khanty Mansiysk Olympiad 2010. A “Tree of Chess” sculpture ( and a diploma was given to each of the ten (10) winners of the last two years.

Each member of the judges’ panel will vote for each of the six categories separately. He/she will have the right to vote for three persons, giving three (3), two (2) and one (1) point respectively. In case of a tie in the first place, two or more winners will be announced equal first. For the Hall of Fame, the three first trainers will be accepted.

Full regulation on the TRG website

Five Award categories:

1. Botvinnik Mikhail medal for men’s trainer or captain, for best results in mens competitions where World Championships and Olympiads are valued foremost, to be considered too are long standing high results.
2. Furman Symeon medal for women’s trainer or captain, similar to Botvinnik medal but applicable to women’s competitions.
3. Euwe Max medal for juniors trainer, for best results in junior competitions, to be considered are world and continental championships plus founder of famous chess schools, training programs, and academies.
4. Boleslavsky Isaac medal for best book which instructional values are remarkable, and to be considered are also series of articles, instructional computer software, and programs for development of players.
5. Petrosian Tigran medal for a special achievement over the last years.

Winners’ List 2008 and 2009

Botvinnik Mikhail (Men Trainer): Petrosian Arshak (ARM 2008), Azmaiparashvili Zurab (GEO 2009)
Furman Symeon (Women Trainer): Ye Jiangchuan (CHN 2008), Ye Jiangchuan (CHN 2009)
Euwe Max (Juniors Trainer): Mikhalchishin Adrian (SLO 2008), Mikhalchishin Adrian (SLO 2009)
Boleslavsky Isaac (Author): Jussupow Artur (GER 2008), Grivas Efstratios (GRE 2009)
Petrosian Tigran (Special Achiev.): Lputian Smbat (ARM 2008), Nikitin Aleksandr (RUS 2009)

Hall of Fame 2008-2009

Botvinnik Mikhail (URS), Furman Sumeon (URS), Boleslavsky Issac (URS), Bondarevsky Igor (URS), Gurgenidze Bukhuti (GEO), Bykhovsky Anatoly (RUS), Geller Efim (URS), Nikitin Aleksandr (RUS), Kart Viktor (UKR), Samarian Sergiu (ROM)

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,