Canada fundraising for Chess Olympiad 2010
participation of Canada depends on chess fans
Presented by Chessdom

Canada is a frequent participant at the Chess Olympiad events. The participation of the team at the Chess Olympiad in Khanty Mansiysk depends on donations. A minimum of $10 000 is required for a men team to participate (IM Nikolay Noritsyn, GM Mark Bluvshtein, GM Pascal Charbonneau, IM Igor Zugic, and IM Thomas Roussel-Roozmon). For a women team to be included the fundrising should finish with at least $20 000.

Currently $3,120.07 are collected leaving the Canada team with no confirmed participation. The list of donors includes the Victoria Chess Club, players relatives, and even the famous with Spanish opens GM Kevin Spraggett. If you want to help the Canada team for the Chess Olympiad, head on to the Canada Chess Federation page.

More information about Chess Olympiad 2010

Chess Olympiad 2010 teams


History and details

Canada at the Chess Olympiad

The Chess Olympiad is a team competition for nations, first held in 1927 at London, England and held every 2 years since 1950. The event is sanctioned by the World Chess Federation (FIDE). The 39th Chess Olympiad will be held at Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia from September 19th, 2010 to October 4th, 2010

Canada first participated in the Olympiads in 1939 at Buenos Aires, Argentina, where 14-year old Abe Yanofsky of Winnipeg, Manitoba attracted the world’s attention. In 1964 at Tel Aviv, Israel, Yanofsky secured the first Grandmaster title for a player raised in the Commonwealth. Canada has sent a team to every Olympiad since 1964. Canada’s best finish at the Olympiad was tied for 7th in 1978 at Buenos Aires, Argentina. Canada finished tied for 8th in 1976 at Haifa, Israel and in 1980 at Valetta, Malta.

Canadians have won individual medals 10 times – Gold: D. Abraham Yanofsky, Board 2, 1939; Frank Anderson, Board 2, 1954, 1958; Silver: Peter Biyiasas, Board 2, 1978; Kevin Spraggett, Board 2, 2000; Bronze: Peter Biyiasas, Board 4, 1972; Jean Hйbert, Board 3, 1982; Lawrence Day, Board 3, 1986; Deen Hergott, Alternate 1, 1990; Yan Teplitsky, Board 4, 2002. Lawrence Day has represented Canada at the Olympiads 13 times, followed by D. Abraham Yanofsky (11 times).

The Women’s Olympiad was first held in 1957 at Emmen, Netherlands. Canada first participated in the Women’s Olympiad in 1974 at Medellin, Columbia, and has sent a team every time since 2000. Canadians have won individual medals 4 times – Gold: Nava Starr, Board 2, 1976; Cйline Roos, Board 2, 1984; Bronze: Smilja Vujosevic, Board 1, 1976; Nava Starr, Board 1, 1982. Nava Starr has represented Canada at the Olympiads 12 times.

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , ,