Baadur Jobava wins the 2012 Georgia Championship

The last round of the 71st Georgian Chess Championship was very interesting. Despite having won the title with one round remaining, Baadur Jobava fought until the end of the tournament to win the final game and add 9 points to his elo rating.

His nearest followers, Merab Gagunashvili and 2011 Georgia Champion Davit Zarkua, signed a quick draw and waited for the other results. After beating GM Shanava, Lika Paichadze reached the shared 2nd-4th place, but eventually landed 4th after the playoff.

Merab Gagunashvili and Davit Zarkua were even in the playoffs and had to play a tiebreak. The first match ended 1-1 and in the blitz games Gagunashvili won by 1.5-0.5 and qualified to the 2013 European Championship.

Former world champion Garry Kasparov presented the winner’s trophy to Jobava.

It is noteworthy that a total of five players won the title norms (!): Davit Zarkua and Luka Paichadze – GM norms; Irakli Beradze, Davit Lomsadze and Zurab Javakhadze – IM norms.

Final Standings:

1. Jobava – 10 points
2. Gagunashvili – 7.5
3. Zarkua – 7.5
4. Paichadze – 7.5
5. Shanava – 6.5
6. Beradze – 6
7. Lomsadze – 5.5
8. Arutinian – 4.5
9-10. Javakhadze, Kuparadze – 4
11. Pantsulaia – 1.5
12. Chighladze – 0.5

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,