The 8th Batavia Chess Tournament takes place from Thursday, February 18th to Sunday, February 28th, 2016 in Café Batavia 1920, Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The games will start each day at 14:00 hrs. The final round starts at 12.00 hrs. Wednesday, February 24th is a rest day.

Admission to the playing hall in Cafe Batavia is free.
The cafe is located opposite the Amsterdam Central Station, in the direction of Zeedijk, left to the St. Nicholas church, at Prins Hendrikkade 85.

The Batavia Chess Tournament is a 10-player all-play-all event. The rate of play is 40 moves in 90 minutes plus 30 minutes for all remaining moves with 30 seconds per move added from the start.
The games are FIDE rated and gives players the opportunity to earn grandmaster and international master norms.


1. GM Sabino Brunello (2562) ITA
2. GM Friso Nijboer (2545) NED
3. GM Lars Schandorff (2500) DEN
4. IM Moulthun Ly (2480) AUS
5. IM Arthur Pijpers (2476) NED
6. IM Thomas Willemze (2418) NED
7. IM Stef Soors (2390) BEL
8. WGM Anne Haast (2381) NED
9. Lucas van Foreest (2350) NED
10. FM Danny de Ruiter (2312) NED

Prize Fund

1st place: €500
2nd place: €300
3rd place: €200

Blitz – 1st place: €100

The brilliancy prize of €150 for the best game and the best endgame prize of €150 are made possible by de Melker & Partners (dMP). The jury consists of GM Anish Giri and IMs Manuel Bosboom and Merijn van Delft.

Title norms

The requirement for a GM norm is 6½ points. An IM-norm is 4½ points.
(WGM Anne Haast needs 5 points for an IM-norm, however she has already obtained the necessary norm results.)

Batavia Blitz & Opening

On Thursday February 18th at 20.00 hrs the participants of the Batavia Chess Tournament will play a blitz tournament to determine the color distribution for the main event. The Blitz event is open for audience in Café Batavia, while the games can be followed live via this website as well.

Format: 10-player single round robin.
Rate of play: 3 minutes plus 2 seconds per move.
First prize: €100.
Tiebreak: 1. Mutual games; 2. SB points; 3. Most blacks; 4. Most wins; 5. Most wins with black; 6. Drawing of lots.
The final ranking of the Blitz determines the starting numbers of the main event. Which means, the winner of the Blitz has starting number 5 in the main event, number 2 has starting number 4, etc. and number 6 gets starting number 10, number 7 starting number 9, etc.

The opening of the 8th Batavia Chess Tournament will also take place on Thursday February 18th, at 19.00 hrs.


Tournament director: Merijn van Delft
Cafe Batavia: Peter Tames
Chief Arbiter: Arno Eliëns

Tags: ,