50th Doeberl Cup – Round Four

The 2012 Doeberl Cup, 50th in a row, is taking place from 4th to 9th April at the Hellenic Club of Canberra in Australia. The Olympus Room provides the main playing hall for the event. An $17,850 prize money pool is on offer.

The event consists of five tournaments:

– Premier Tournament to be played over 9 rounds of Swiss system on 4-9th April. Reserved for the titled and players rated above FIDE 1900 or ACF 1800. Maximum 90 participants, prize fund is $12,350 (first place – $4,000).
– Major & Minor Tournaments to be played over 7 rounds of Swiss system on 5-9th April. Maximum 80 participants in each.
– Mind Games U1200s Tournament to be played over 6 rounds on 6-7th April. Maximum 60 participants. The Under 1200′s requires an ACF rating below 1200 points. Time control 60mins+10secs for the whole game.
– Lightning Tournament on 7th April with time control 5mins+0secs for the whole game.

After four rounds of play in the Premier Tournament there is a massive group of 8 players in the joint lead with 3.5 points each.

Round 4 standings:

1-8. IM Rathnakaran K IND 2410, GM Horvath Adam HUN 2487, IM Karthikeyan P IND 2414, GM Vajda Levente ROU 2597, GM Rodriguez Cepedes Amador ESP 2440, IM Akshat Khamparia IND 2411, GM Sengupta Deep IND 2572 and IM Yang Kaiqi CHN 2360 – 3.5

9-17. IM Solomon Stephen J AUS 2375, Bai Jinshi CHN 2231, GM Czebe Attila HUN 2477, IM Lane Gary W AUS 2368, FM Illingworth Max AUS 2352, FM Cheng Bobby AUS 2344, FM Bjelobrk Igor AUS 2326, IM Brown Andrew AUS 2221 and FM Wallis Christopher AUS 2265 – 3.0 etc

Round 5 top pairings:

GM Vajda Levente 2597 – IM Akshat Khamparia 2411
GM Sengupta Deep 2572 – IM Rathnakaran K 2410
GM Horvath Adam 2487 – IM Yang Kaiqi 2360
IM Karthikeyan P 2414 – GM Rodriguez Cepedes Amador 2440
FM Cheng Bobby 2344 – GM Czebe Attila 2477
IM Solomon Stephen J 2375 – FM Bjelobrk Igor 2326
IM Lane Gary W 2368 – FM Wallis Christopher 2265
Bai Jinshi 2231 – FM Illingworth Max 2352
IM Xie George Wendi 2456 – IM Brown Andrew 2221
FM Stojic Dusan 2296 – GM Szabo Gergely-Andras-Gyula 2553
Bird Andrew 2201 – GM Johansen Darryl K 2444

The Doeberl Cup is the longest running weekend chess event in Australia. Since 1963 it has been held every year in Canberra, Australia. Grandmaster Ian Rogers holds the record for the most number of wins (either outright or on tie-break) with 12.

Official website

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,