2014 SPICE Cup Open

Sponsored by Webster University
and the Susan Polgar Foundation

St. Louis, Missouri
October 21-26, 2014

GM/IM norm opportunity – Minimum rating (FIDE) 2100
Limited to first 50 entries (Free entry to all players FIDE > 2300)

4 IM/GM norms earned in 2012
1 IM performance/2 GM norms earned in 2013

Time Control: G/90 + 30 second increment from move 1

$13,000 guaranteed (up from $11,000 last year)

U/2400 FIDE $500-$250-$125
U/2300 FIDE $500-$250-$125
Top Female $500-$250

October 2014 rating will be used

Limited FREE hotel accommodation (double occupancy) at the Crowne Plaza available to foreign GMs.


Free to all GMs, IMs, WGMs and all FIDE rated players over 2300 (must complete all 9 rounds), if registered by September 30, 2014. $50 later or on site.

$150 to FIDE 2200-2299, $200 to FIDE U-2200 if received by September 30, 2014. Additional $50 later or on site.


Crowne Plaza Clayton Hotel 7750 Carondelet Ave, St Louis, MO 63105 (FREE shuttle from the Lambert–St. Louis International Airport) $109/night, FREE Breakfast/Internet

For reservations guests can call directly to 314-726-5400 or 1-800-439-5719
Group Name is SPICE Cup or on line at Crown Plaza Hotel.
Group Code is SPZ

Send entries to:

Webster University – SPICE
470 E. Lockwood Ave
St. Louis, MO 63119

Questions or registration for titled players: Email: spice@webster.edu or call 314-246-8075


Tuesday, October 21
5:00 pm – Round 1

Wednesday, October 22
10:00 am – Round 2
5:00 pm – Round 3

Thursday, October 23
10:00 am – Round 4
5:00 pm – Round 5

Friday, October 24
5:00 pm – Round 6

Saturday, October 25
10:00 am – Round 7
5:00 pm – Round 8

Sunday, October 26
10:00 am – Round 9

All Rounds played at the Crowne Plaza Clayton Hotel

Pre-registration list (13 GMs, 13 IMs, 2 WGMs, 25+ foreign players + US) – Limit to ONLY 50 players

Please send me an email SusanPolgar@aol.com if you registered but not see your name on the list below:

Adamson Robby USA FM
Ashwin Jayaram India IM
Banawa Jake PHL FM
Banawa Joel USA FM
Betaneli Alexander USA FM
Bora Safal USA
Boros Denes Hungary GM
Cao Jason Canada
Chandra Akshat USA IM
Checa, Nicolas USA
Chiang Sarah USA WFM
Corrales Fidel USA GM
Diamant Andre Brazil GM
Durarbayli Vasif Azerbaijan GM

Eckert Doug USA FM
Ghatti Sanjay USA
Gurevich Daniel USA FM
Hendrickson Nolan USA
Inumerable, Florentino USA
Jung Hans Canada FM
Kannappan Priyadharshan India IM

Kaufman Raymond USA IM
Kavutskiy Kostya USA FM
Kiewra Keaton USA IM
Guðmundur Kjartansson ISL IM
Langer Michael USA FM
Larson, Matthew USA
Le Liem Vietnam GM
Leon Hoyos Manuel Mexico GM

Li Ruifeng USA FM
Liang Awonder USA FM
Mendoza Luisa Columbia WFM
Menon Gopal USA
Naroditsky Daniel USA GM
Neimer Vitaly Israel IM
Ni, Viktorija USA WIM
Nyzhnyk Ilya Ukraine GM
Panjwani Raja Canada IM
Perez Luis Manuel Cuba GM
Preotu Razvan Canada FM
Pressman Leif USA FM
Recuero Guerra David Spain IM
Richter Alex USA
Robson Ray USA GM 
Rosenthal Nicholas USA
Santarius Erik USA
Sevian, Samuel USA IM
Shankar Gauri India FM
Sharevich Anna USA WGM

So Wesley PHL GM
Tan Justin Australia FM
Troff Kayden USA GM
Vera Reinaldo Cuba GM

Voelker James USA
Xiong Jeffrey USA IM
Young, Angelo PHI IM


Sanches Ruiz Cuba IM

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , , ,