Ten countries to take part in Asian chess championship

Kolkata, Dec 19 (PTI) More than a hundred top chess players from ten countries, including 20 grandmasters will take part in 16th Asian Team Chess championship to be held at historic Town Hall here from December 20 to 26.

Briefing the media here today Grandmaster Dibyendu Barua, Director of Dibyendu Barua Chess Academy, the organisers of the championship, said ten countries including Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Iran, Yemen, Singapore, Mongolia, Indonesia, Vietnam and runners up India would participate in the championship.

Current champion China would not take part this time, he informed.

Barua said India would field two teams each both in men and women sections. While K Sashikaran and Satyapragyan will lead the men’s “A” and “B” team respectively, Indian women teams would be spearheaded by D Harika and Nisha Mohta.

He said the championship would be inaugurated by Union Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee tomorrow.

Source: http://www.ptinews.com

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar