Tata Steel Chess 2011
Corus to be renamed Tata Steel

The traditional Corus Chess Tournament in Wijk Aan Zee will have a different name starting next year Tata Steel Chess.

This is the second change of name for the event in their 73 editions history. The traditional tournament has been running since 1938 under the name of Hoogovens, and was renamed later in 2000 Corus.

The format of Tata Steel Chess will be preserved. A total of 3 groups will be present (A, B, and C), with some of the top world players in the A group. Each group will preserve the 14 players round robin format. Until now the tournament reveals 3 names – the current number 1 GM Magnus Carlsen, the World Champion GM Viswanathan Anand, and the 5th in the September FIDE rating list GM Vladimir Kramnik. Interesting to note, these players also participate in the Bilbao Final Chess Masters.

The rest of the field will be announced after the end of the 2010 Chess Olympiad in Khanty Mansiysk.

The rumor of the renaming of the tournament has been around for some time, and was first publicly confirmed after a GSCA meeting talk with journalists. The information is confirmed now by official press release at the Corus website, that from next year will be under the domain name tatasteelchess.com.

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , , , ,