So strikes again as Tagaytay stamps class
Published : Sunday, April 03, 2011 00:00

Standings after two rounds:

6 points — Tagaytay
5 — LWUA-Quezon City-A, Cabuyao-Laguna, Bacolod
4 — Misamis Oriental, DAR-Quezon City Club 64-Iloilo, Peter Kimpo-Aklan, Palawan, DepEd-Pasig, Adiong-Lanao del Sur, Accenture Chess Enthusiasts-A

KALIBO, Aklan — GM Wesley So pulled off back-to-back victories as top favorite Tagaytay whipped Club 64-Iloilo, 4-0, in the second round and Misamis Oriental, 3-1, in the third round to vault into the solo lead in the 2011 National Inter-Province chess team championship at the Cabagnot Training Center here Saturday.

So, at 17 the country’s highest-rated player in history with an ELO of 2667, outwitted Rodrigo Atotubo of Iloilo in the second round and edged GM Mark Paragua of Misamis in the third round to power Tagaytay of Mayor Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino to the solo lead with a perfect score of six points in this 28-team tournament organized by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) in cooperation with the Aklan provincial government.

Allan Cantonjos, Ivan Gil Biag and Garry Garcia also hurdled their respective opponents from Iloilo to complete Tagaytay’s second straight shutout victory.

Full article here.

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,