Three Indians tie for second spot
India’s National Newspaper
Monday, Jun 01, 2009

NEW DELHI: Three Indians were part of a seven-way tie for the second spot behind Iranian champion Ehsan Ghaem Maghami in the second Subic International Open chess tournament at Subic, in the Philippines, on Sunday.

In the ninth and final round, Maghami drew with Bangladesh’s Ziaur Rahman to take the title with seven points.

Sandipan (6.5) drew with Chinese challenger Xiu Deshun before top seed Surya Shekhar Ganguly and Abhijeet Gupta won their games to match his tally.

After the tiebreak scores were considered, Chanda, Ganguly and Gupta were placed, fifth, seventh and eighth, in that order.

The results (involving Indians): Ninth round: Sandipan Chanda (6.5) drew with Xiu Deshun (Chn,6.5); Surya Shekhar Ganguly (6.5) bt Deepan Chakkravarthy (5.5); Abhijeet Gupta (6.5) bt Richard Bitoon (Phi, 5.5); Parimarjan Negi (6) bt Oliver Dimakiling (Phi, 5); Darwin Laylo (Phi, 5) lost to Aswin Jayaram (6); C. J. Arvind (5.5) drew with Abhijit Kunte (5); Tania Sachdev (5.5) bt Nisha Mohota (4.5); Yu Lie (Chn, 4) lost to K. Priyadarshan (5); Tejas avichandran (4) lost to Wan Yungun (Chn, 4.5); Haridas Pascua (Phi, 3) drew with Kruttika Nadig (2).

Indians’ standing: 5. Sandipan, 7. Ganguly, 8. Gupta, 10. Aswin, 11. Negi, 13. Deepan, 16. Arvind, 18. Tania, 28. Priyadarshan, 31. Kunte, 38. Nisha, 50. Tejas, 73. Kruttika.


Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,