FIDE Women Grand Prix in Nalchik
12-player round robin, from 25th April to 8th May 2010

The FIDE Women Grand Prix is a new series of elite tournaments which will be organised by FIDE and Global Chess. There will be 6 legs over two years in various countries around the world with three tournaments every year.

The winner of each tournament will win 6,500 euros out of a prize fund of 40,000 euros and the overall winner of the series will win a further 15,000 euros at the end of the series.

This is the first time that such a series is being organised and is a significant development for the chess world. The introduction of the Grand Prix series means that there will be a World Championship contest annually now from 2010. In that year, the Champion will be determined from the World Championship Knockout which will also be held in Turkey and the following year, 2011, the World Champions will face the Winner of the Grand Prix series 2009/2010 in a match for the title.

This will be one of the strongest women tournaments of all times and it is important to point out that there are three ex-world Champions taking part as well as the highest ranked women players in the world. The 2008 Women’s World Chess Championship was also held in Nalchik (photo gallery).

Women’s Grand Prix in Nalchik, 25 Apr – 8 May 2010

List of participants:

GM Koneru Humpy (2622 IND)
GM Yifan Hou (2570 CHN)
GM Kosintseva Tatiana (2524 RUS)
GM Cramling Pia (2523 SWE)
IM Mkrtchan Lilit (2503 ARM)
IM Danielian Elina (2491 ARM)
GM Zhao Xue (2490 CHN)
GM Dzagnidze Nana (2479 GEO)
GM Chen Zhu (2476 QAT)
WGM Batkhuyag Munguntuul (2428 MGL)
WGM Kovanova Baira (2385 RUS)
WIM Yildiz Betul Cemre (2244 TUR)

Official website

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , , ,