Uzbek rules PGMA Cup via tiebreak
The Philippine Star 10/01/2009 8:09 AM

MANILA, Philippines – Grandmaster Anton Filippov of Uzbekistan defeated Filipino IM Richard Bitoon in the eighth round and drew with top seed GM Mikhail Mchedlishvili of Georgia in the final round to rule the fourth President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo Cup International Chess Championship at the Duty Free Fiesta Mall in Parañaque.

The third-seeded Filippov finished with a nine-round aggregate of 6.5 points on four wins and five draws then nipped four others – GMs Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son of Vietnam, Ehsan Ghaemmaghami of Iran, Merab Gagunashvili of Georgia and Gopal Nayanan of India – in the tiebreak to clinch the crown.

Truong Son, solo leader after the seventh round, drew with Mchedlishvili and Gagunashvili while Ghaemmaghami beat Filipino GM John Paul Gomez in the eighth round and GM Tigran Kotanjian of Armenia in the ninth to finish tied for first.

Gagunashvili beat GM Meng Kong Wong of Singapore and halved the point with Nguyen, while Nayanan drew with Kotanjian in the eighth round and trounced GM Darwin Laylo in the final round.

The five players, however, won $4,000 each out of the total prize fund of $40,000.

Here is the full article.

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,