FIDE World Junior Chess Championships in KIIT from 7th

Bhubaneswar: FIDE World Junior Chess Championships 2016 (for boys & girls under 20 years of age) will be held at KIIT University, Bhubaneswar, India from August 7 – 22, 2016. The 15-day championship is sponsored by KIIT University, Bhubaneswar, India and organized by All Orissa Chess Association under the aegis of All India Chess Federation (AICF) and FIDE. This is the first time in Eastern India; Odisha is hosting the World Junior Chess Championship. Shri Naveen Patnaik, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha has given his kind consent to inaugurate the Championship on 7th August, 2016. Shri D. V. Sundar, Vice- President of World Chess Federation will also grace the occasion, apart from officials from All India chess Federation & All Odisha Chess Association. Dr. S. C. Jamir, Hon’ble Governor of Odisha has given his kind consent to grace the valedictory on 21st. Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder KIIT & KISS is the Chairman of the organizing committee of WJCC- 2016. The tournament will be played at Indoor Stadium of KIIT University.

About 150 players from over 60 countries confirmed participation Khademalsharieh, Sarasadat (Iran, rated 2445 and Artemiev Vladislav, rated 2653, from Russia are the top seeds in the girls and Open category respectively GM Arvinda Chidambaram (2543) and Pratyusha Boddda (2329) will lead the Indian Challenge. There will be live internet coverage with Commentary and some of the strongest Chess brains promising high voltage action, will be the high points of the World Junior Chess Championship (WJCC) 2016. KIIT University is all geared up to host this prestigious and second most important Chess tournament in the World from 8th August to 21st August, 2016. There will be three players from Odisha, Saina Salonika in Girls section & Utkal Sahoo & Rakesh Jena (FM) in the fray.

The WJCC-2016 is being jointly organized by KIIT University and the All Odisha Chess Association, under the auspices of AICF (All India Chess Federation) and FIDE (Federation Internationale des Echecs-, World Chess Federation), with approval of Sports Authority of India. The Tournament will be conducted in the Swiss League format comprising 13 rounds with one round being played each day. The inauguration is scheduled on 7th August and the first Round will be played on 8th August.

The winner in both these categories will be conferred the title of Grandmaster (GM) and Woman Grandmaster (WGM) respectively and, will automatically qualify for the forthcoming World Cup, which is part of the World Championship Cycle. The winners would also take home cash prize of Rs 8, 00,000/-(Eight lakhs). Apart from the titles, there will be GM, IM, WGM and WIM norms at stake for players performing creditably

KIIT University & All Odisha Chess Association is extremely pleased to host the World Junior Chess Championship in Bhubaneswar, a city that has hosted many Grandmasters events, in the past. The Odisha Chess Fraternity is overwhelmed by the response of participation, that, they have received from every part of the world. They have an enterprising team which has been working round the clock to make this tournament a grand success and they have left no stone upturned in their efforts to do so. This championship will provide an ideal platform for budding stars to take their game of chess to the next level. The Organizers are thankful to the Government of India & Govt. of Odisha for their valuable contribution which will go a long way in making this tournament a grand success.

Cities like Chennai, Delhi, Bangalore, Pune and Bhubaneswar were took part in the bidding process to organize the Mega Event. As KIIT has got success in organizing GM Championship many times, FIDE, Indian Chess Association and Odisha Chess Association selected KIIT for this Championship. With the support of Odisha Chess Association, KIIT bought the rights with applicable amount. The organizing committee of WJCC- 2016 comprises prominent chess players and key personalities including Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Sekhar Sahu (FIDE Senior Trainer) & IM, Dr. Gaganendu Dash( Director Sports, KIIT), Ranjan Mohanty, K.K. Sarma, G. C. Mahapatra, Prof. Anantraman (Chief Arbiter).


Tags: ,