On 11th August, 2014 European Chess Union elections were held in Tromso, Norway. Here are the results:

Elected Presidential ticket:

Zurab Azmaiparashvili – President
Ion-Serban Dobronauteanu – Deputy President
Finnbjorn Vang – Vice President
Theodoros Tsorbatzoglou – Secretary General
Martin Huba – Treasurer

In addition, the three additional Board members were elected:

Adrian Mikhalchishin (SLO)
Johann Pocksteiner (AUT)
Jean-Michel Rapaire (MNC)

The former ECU President Silvio Danailov (BUL) accepted the position of Honorary President in the newly elected ECU Board.

In addition, the ECU General Assembly elected Mr. Aris Ozolins (LAT) as the ECU Auditor. Mr. Branimir Jukic (CRO) was declared as ECU Deputy Auditor.

According to FIDE regulations, Europe will be represented in FIDE Executive Board by its President Mr. Azmaiparashvili, Deputy President Mr. Dobronauteanu and four elected members as follows:

Carl Fredrik Johansson (SWE)
Jean-Claude Moingt (FRA)
Kevin O’Connell (IRL)
Roberto Rivello (ITA)


Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,