Russian Grandmaster Aleksey Dreev won the European Rapid Chess Championship 2012 that was held on 15-16th December at The Palace of Culture and Science in Warsaw, Poland.

753 players from the European federations (FIDE Zones 1.1 to 1.10) competed in the 11-round Swiss event with the time control G-15′+10”.

Eventually four players shared the first place with 9,5 points each: Aleksey Dreev, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Alexei Shirov and Sergei Rublevsky. Dreev had the best tie-break score and is declared Champion.

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, who two days earlier became European Blitz Chess Champion, this time took the silver medal. Shirov is awarded with bronze.

The prize fund of 20,000 € was distributed to 25 regular and 28 special prizes. The winner took 4,000 €.

Final standings:

1-4. GM Dreev Aleksey RUS 2748, GM Vachier-Lagrave Maxime FRA 2711, GM Shirov Alexei LAT 2723 and GM Rublevsky Sergei RUS 2712 – 9.5

5-13. GM Naiditsch Arkadij GER 2708, GM Malakhov Vladimir RUS 2713, GM Tkachiev Vladislav FRA 2635, GM Motylev Alexander RUS 2677, GM Ragger Markus AUT 2665, GM Rapport Richard HUN 2623, GM Socko Bartosz POL 2628, IM Kovalev Vladislav BLR 2482 and GM Olszewski Michał POL 2533 – 9.0

14-26. GM Sargissian Gabriel ARM 2666, GM Moranda Wojciech POL 2559, GM Petrosian Tigran L. ARM 2648, GM Gajewski Grzegorz POL 2644, GM Kulaots Kaido EST 2537, GM Romanov Evgeny RUS 2589, IM Tazbir Marcin POL 2555, GM Gritsak Orest UKR 2549, GM Fedoseev Vladimir RUS 2629, GM Miśta Aleksander POL 2562, GM Tomczak Jacek POL 2558, GM Jussupow Artur GER 2611 and GM Klimov Sergey RUS 2453 – 8.5 etc 

Official website

Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , ,