Chess association elects body  
Srinagar, Dec 30: Jammu and Kashmir State Chess Association Saturday held its elections at Bakshi Stadium here.

A spokesperson said the elections, under the supervision of J&K Sport’s Council representative Bashir Ahmad Shah, were conducted smoothly.

While Muhammad Farooq Dhar was elected president J&K State Chess Association, Abdul Rashid Wani was elected as Sr. Vice President and Rakesh Gupta as vice president (Jammu). Imtiyaz Rashid Wani was elected vice president (Kashmir), Ashiq Ahmad Kolu as General Secretary, Sumit Grower as Joint Secretary (Jammu) and Iftikhar Rashid as Joint Secretary (Kashmir).

The spokesperson said after election results were declared, president of the association called an immediate meeting of the executive body in which some key decision were taken. “It was unanimously decided that the game (chess) be started as soon as possible. For smooth conduct of the affairs of the association, some persons were nominated for posts,” he said.

While as Muhammad Ashraf Shah, former chief sports officer, was nominated as Chairman, Dr Asim Shamim was nominated as organizing secretary and Sameer Sultan as press secretary. Rayess Ahmad was nominated as convener. Riyaz Ahmad Khan, Dr Obaid Ashraf, Dr Ajaz and Imtiyaz Ahmad Lone were nominated as executive members.


Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar