Barbosa wins chess title
Press Trust of India : New Delhi, Tue Jan 24 2012, 01:29 hrs

Sixth seed Filipino Grandmaster Oliver Barbosa ensured a thrilling end to the 10th Parsvnath International Open Grandmasters Chess Tournament by defeating Indian International Master Shyam Nikil in the eleventh and final round at Ludlow Castle Sports Complex on Monday. This victory enabled Barbosa to take his tally to nine and half points to take the Winner’s trophy and pocketed a cash prize of 3 lakh rupees.

Grandmaster Gomez John Paul of Philippines and Indian International Master Lalith Babu tied for the second spot with nine points but better tie-break score helped Filipino Grandmaster to finish second while Lalith satisfied with third spot finish. In the final round, Lalith outwitted International Master K Rathnakaran while Gomez drew with Ma Qun of China. Ma Qun secured International Master norm during the process. However, in an indication to how close the tournament was run, if John Paul Gomez had managed to beat the Chinese player, he would have been the victor of the tournament and an extra 1 lakh rupees. Grandmaster Hoang Thanh Trang of Hungary and International Master bagged Best Women and Best Junior player prizes respectively while Diptayan Ghosh and Saurabh Anand adjudged as Best Under-16 and Best Under-10 players respectively. G B Joshi and Madhurima Shekhar won the Best Delhi Player and Best Delhi Girl Player prizes.

Results: IM Shyam Nikil P (8) lost to GM Oliver Barbosa of Philippines (9.5); Ma Qun of China (8.5) drew with GM Gomez John Paul of Philippines (9); IM Rathnakaran (8) lost to IM Lalith Babu (9); GM Kravtsiv Martyn of Ukraine (8) drew with IM Vidit Santosh Gujarathi (8); GM Mark Paragua of Philippines (8.5) beat GM Evgeny Gleizerov of Russia (7.5); IM Vaibhav Suri (8) drew with GM Abhijit Kunte (8); IM Nitin S (8) beat GM Sandipan Chanda (7); Zeng Chongsheng of China (8) beat GM Mikhail Ulibin of Russia (7); IM Somak Palit (7) lost to GM Andrei Deviatkin of Russia (8); GM Mikhailo Oleksienko of Ukraine (7.5) drew with IM R Siddharth (7.5); IM Vishnu Prasanna (7.5) drew with IM Kiril Kuderinov of Kazakhstan (7.5); GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (7.5) drew with IM Debashis Das (7.5); GM Neelotpal Das (7.5) drew with Hemant Sharma (7.5); Abhishek Das (7) lost to IM Thejkumar MS (8); Narayanan S L (7) lost to GM Laxman R R (8); Pradeep Kumar RA (7.5) drew with IM Karthikeyan P (7.5); IM Ashwin Jayaram (7.5) beat IM P Konguvel (7).


Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,