Asian Cities Chess Championship Round 2

Kolkata shocks Dhaka

Sixth seed Kolkata shocked Dhaka 2 ½ – 1 ½ to take the joint lead in the ongoing Asian Cities Chess Championship at KIIT University on Sunday.

Sonkalan Bharati and Samrat Ghorai scored emphatic victories over higher rated opponents Syed Mahfuzur Rahman and International Master Minhaz Uddin Mohammad while Ritabroto Ganguly held Md. Taibur Rahman to a creditable draw to register a memorable victory for Kolkata. Aminul Islam registered consolation win for Dhaka over Soumik Datta.

Meanwhile top seed Rasht and host KIIT Bhubaneswar also registered convincing victories over Penang and Dubai, respectively to share the lead with Kolkata with four match points.

In other second round encounters, Alquds defeated Muscat and Chinese Taipei got better off Cuttack. Puri edged out KISS Bhubaneswar with narrowest margin to register their first victory in this championship.

Results Round 2: Penang (2) lost to Rasht (4) 0 -4 ; KIIT Bhubaneswar (4) beat Dubai (2) 4 – 0; Kolkata (4) beat Dhaka (1) 2 ½ – 1 ½ ; Alquds (3) beat Muscat (0) 2 ½ – 1 ½ ; Puri (2) beat KISS Bhubaneswar (0) 2 ½ – 1 ½ ; Cuttack (0) lost to Chinese Taipei (2) ½ – 3 1/2 .

Asian Cities Chess Championship Round 1

Asian Cities Chess Championship for Dubai Cup got off to a rousing start at KIIT University Bhubaneswar on Saturday. A total number of 12 teams from eight countries are participating in this prestigious event.

Rasht team from Iran got the top billing followed by KIIT Bhubaneswar and Dhaka. Except Dhaka, all top ranked teams started the championship on winning note while late arrival of player caused Dhaka dearly as they settled for draw against Alquds, Palestine.

Rasht defeated Puri 3 ½ – ½ while host KIIT Bhubaneswar outwitted Muscat on same margin. Penang, Dubai and Kolkata got better off Chinese Taipei, Cuttack and KISS Bhubaneswar, respectively in the opening round with 3 -1 margin.

The championship was inaugurated by Prof. Sasmita Samanta, Registrar KIIT University in presence of Shri. SC Sahu, Vice President Ail India Chess Federation, Shri. KK Sarma, Secretary All Odisha Chess Association and Shri. Abdulrahim Mahdi, Chief Arbiter of the event.

Results Round 1: Rasht (2) beat Puri (0) 3-1; Muscat (0) lost to KIIT Bhubaneswar (2) 1-3; Dhaka (1) drew with Alquds (1) 2 – 2; Chinese Taipei (0) lost to Penang (2) 1 -3; Dubai (2) beat Cuttack (0) 3 -1; KISS Bhubaneswar (0) lost to Kolkata (2) 1 – 3.