Adams edges out Short for Bunratty Masters title
IM Malcolm Pein – Thursday 23rd February 2012

IM Malcolm Pein reports that Michael Adams beat Nigel Short in a blitz playoff to take the Bunratty Masters title for 2012.

The Bunratty Congress entry was well up on last year despite the economic crisis in Ireland. Over 50 players visited from abroad as the tournament has the friendliest atmosphere of any I have attended.

As reported yesterday, Michael Adams, Nigel Short and Gawain Jones shared first on 5/6. There was a blitz tie break which excluded Jones, as his tie break was adversely affected by a win by default over Andrei Istratescu who failed to show on Sunday morning. Adams won the tie breaker after some chaotic games and took the trophy.


Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , ,