Four players share lead

Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh and Oliver Barbosa of Philippines joined Abhijit Kunte of PSPB and Vidit Santosh Gujrathi of Maharashtra in the lead with 5.5 points, after seven rounds in the 19th International Open Grandmasters Tournament, organised by Alekhine Chess Club, Kolkata, today. Three more rounds remain to be played.

Abhijit Kunte opted for this third consecutive draw of the tournament, against former world under 14 champion Vidit Santosh Gujrathi in a Catalan opening. After exchanging the queens on the 20th move, Kunte tried to promote his pawn to eighth rank, by sacrificing the knight. But Vidit played accurately and nullified the advantage to share the point. In a double bishop ending, with equal pawns, Deepan Chakkravarthy of TN forced third seeded Konstantin Landa of Russia to split the point.

Ukraine’s Sergey Fedorchuk overlooked a powerful combination of Ziaur Rahman’s queen and bishop to get virtually checkmated in 31 moves. Ziaur, who defeated top seeded Nigel Short in an earlier round has climbed back to the top again. The longest drawn battle between Barbosa and Pantsulaia Levan of Georgia, the former prevailed over the latter with two extra pawns in the queen and pawns ending.

Oliver Barbosa of Philippines won the longest game of the day against Pantsulaia Levan of Georgia

Sixteen year old IM Diptayan Ghosh of West Bengal followed the Slav defence against former Commonwealth champion MR Lalith Babu of PSPB. He maintained a balance in the game until move 37, when both had queen, rook and five pawns each. Diptayan played a disastrous end game to lose three pawns in quick succession and hence the game in 48 moves .

Teen age sensation IM Diptayan Ghosh lost to GM Lalith Babu

Former under 16 world champion B Adhiban of PSPB played an enterprising game against co GM from Tamil Nadu, M. Shyam Sundar. Adhiban won exchange on 25th move by tactically giving up his for rook and getting the compensation in the very next move by a knight fork. Further, he sacrificed his rook on 45th move to get three unstoppable connected pawns, on the verge of promotion. Shyam resigned on the very next move.

Mchedlishvili Mikheil of Georgia accounted for another Bangladesh HM Abdulla Al-Rakib in a queen pawn’s game lasting only 29 moves. SP Sethuraman of PSPB also moved on to 5 points, with a victory over Railway’s IM K Rathnam]karan.

Important results of Round 7

GM Kunte Abhijit 2439 IND 5½ drew with GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 2602 IND 5½
GM Landa Konstantin 2645 RUS 5 drew with GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 2496 IND 5
GM Barbosa Oliver 2564 PHI 5½ beat GM Pantsulaia Levan 2606 GEO 4½
GM Rahman Ziaur 2486 BAN 5½ beat GM Fedorchuk Sergey A. 2647 UKR 4
GM Abdulla Al-Rakib 2518 BAN 4 lost to GM Mchedlishvili Mikheil 2639 GEO 5
GM Adhiban B. 2608 IND 5 beat GM Shyam Sundar M. 2507 IND 4
GM Lalith Babu M.R. 2585 IND 5 beat IM Ghosh Diptayan 2481 IND 4
GM Grigoryan Avetik 2583 ARM 5 beat GM Haznedaroglu Kivanc 2462 TUR 4
GM Sethuraman S.P. 2578 IND 5 beat IM Rathnakaran K. 2389 IND 4
GM Sengupta Deep 2529 IND 5 beat GM Laxman R.R. 2454 IND 4
GM Short Nigel D 2674 ENG 4½ beat GM Debashis Das 2508 IND 3½
Kunal M. 2339 IND 4 drew with GM Gopal G.N. 2558 IND 4
GM Arun Prasad S. 2477 IND 4 drew with IM Karthikeyan P. 2355 IND 4
IM Prasanna R Rao 2410 IND 4 drew with IM Swayams Mishra 2445 IND 4
GM Hossain Enamul 2440 BAN 3½ drew with GM Sundararajan Kidambi 2400 IND 4
IM Narayanan Srinath 2436 IND 3 lost to IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy 2347 IND 4
IM Shyam Nikil P. 2431 IND 3½ drew with Abhishek Kelkar 2286 IND 3½
Sardana Rishi 2338 AUS 3 lost to IM Ly Moulthun 2429 AUS 4½
GM Neelotpal Das 2427 IND 4 beat Akash Pc Iyer 2263 IND 3½
IM Swapnil S. Dhopade 2424 IND 4 beat Surendran N. 2242 IND 3½
IM Palit Somak 2421 IND 3½ drew with Bora Safal 2218 USA 3½
CM Prince Bajaj 2316 IND 3½ drew with IM Satyapragyan S 2389 IND 3½
Krishna C.R.G. 2317 IND 3½ drew with IM Saravanan V. 2359 IND 3½
WGM Padmini Rout 2356 IND 4 beat Karthik V. Ap 2221 IND 3
GM Danielsen Henrik 2501 ISL 3½ beat Deshpande Aniruddha 2279 IND 2½
CM Puranik Abhimanyu 2299 IND 3½ beat GM Sriram Jha 2433 IND 2½
WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty 2256 IND 3 drew with IM Girish A. Koushik 2430 IND 3
WGM Gomes Mary Ann 2402 IND 3 drew with WGM Swathi Ghate 2255 IND 3
Kathmale Sameer 2398 IND 3 drew with Harsha Bharathakoti 2259 IND 3
Patil Pratik 2236 IND 3 drew with IM Akshat Khamparia 2380 IND 3
WIM Ivana Maria Furtado 2177 IND 3 drew with Sagar Shah 2304 IND 3
Neelash Saha 1915 IND 2½ lost to IM Ashwin Jayaram 2470 IND 3
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,