Artwork by Tin Kuljasevic

Pairings here:

The 2010 SPICE Spring Invitational will take place in March (13-19) at the beautiful campus of Texas Tech University in Lubbock, TX.

Robert Hess got his 2nd GM norm last year in this event and he went on to become a GM shortly after that, along with a break through year. GM Robson came to SPICE for the first at the same event last year.

Who will get the GM norm(s) or IM norm(s) this year?

Here are the confirmed players by the order of draw lots (March 2010 FIDE ratings and latest USCF ratings):

1. IM Irina Krush (USA) 2488 USCF – 2461 FIDE (GM norm – previous participant of the SPICE Cup)

2. IM Gergely Antal (HUN) 2557 USCF – 2511 FIDE (2 GM norms) – Texas Tech Student

3. IM Davorin Kuljasevic (CRO) 2585 USCF – 2552 FIDE (2 GM norms) – Texas Tech Student

4. FM Eric Hansen (CAN) 2426 USCF – 2415 FIDE (One of the top juniors in Canada)

5. IM Gabor Papp (HUN) 2578 USCF – 2542 FIDE (GM norm) – Texas Tech Student

6. GM Julio Becerra (USA) 2610 USCF – 2538 FIDE (2-time participant of the SPICE Cup)

7. IM Dean Ippolito (USA) 2548 USCF – 2466 FIDE (Previous participant of the SPICE Cup)

8. GM Jesse Kraai (USA) 2550 USCF – 2508 FIDE (1st time participant)

9. FM Darwin Yang (USA) 2413 USCF – 2378 FIDE (Youngest ever participant of a SPICE Invitational)

10. GM Ben Finegold (USA) 2631 USCF – 2534 FIDE (earned GM title at the 2009 SPICE Cup B group)

Average FIDE rating: 2490.5

GM norm is expected to be 6 points (out of 9 games) and IM norm is expected to be 4 points (out of 9 games).

2010 SPICE Cup

The 2010 SPICE Cup will take place around the middle of November 2010.

To make the event a lot more exciting, the SPICE Cup committee has unanimously voted to adapt the following new rules for the A group:

– No draw offer allowed prior to move 30

– A win = 3 points, a draw = 1 point, and loss = 0 point

Confirmed players:

GM Wesley So (Philippines) 2665

GM Georg Meier (Germany) 2663

GM Jon Ludvig Hammer (Norway) 2617

GM Ray Robson (USA) 2559

GM Eugene Perelshteyn (USA) 2553 (winner of SPICE Cup B group)

We are working on finalizing an agreement to have a big star for the last spot. It will be announced soon.

The format of the A group will once again be a 6-player DRR (category 16) event. The B group will be a 10-player (category 11-12) RR event. We are planning to add a 3rd group for 2010.

Posted by Picasa
Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: , , , ,