Barbosa rules chessfest
Published : Friday, March 16, 2012 00:00
Ed Andaya

Final standings after 11 rounds:

9 points — O. Barbosa.
8.5 — D. Laylo, O. Dimakiling.
8 — E. Senador.
7.5 — R. Nolte, M. Paragua.
7 — D. Causo.
6.5 — P. Bersamina, R. Antonio, R. Dableo, R. ABelgas, R. Bitoon, E. Bagamasbad, E. Gatus, Y. Ranola, N. Villanueva. F. Bustamante, E. Arguelles, R. Legaspi.
6 — J. Corrales, M. Manago, F. Tadina.

SAN Fernando, La Union — GM Oliver Barbosa crowned himself as the champion in the 2012 La Union Open rapid chess tournament atthe Ortega gym here recently.

Barbosa finished the tough, 11-round tournament with nine points, half a point ahead of fellow GM Darwin Laylo and IM Oliver Dimakiling.

Barbosa drew with FM Deniel Causo in 25 moves of the Slav in the penultimate round and lost to GM Mark Paragua in 52 moves of the King’s Indian in the 11th and final round to finish with eight wins, two draws and one loss.

The win was worth P50,000 for Barbosa, the pride of Taytay, Rizal.

It was the second major title of Barbosa this year following his success in the 10th Parsvnath International GM chess Tournament in New Delhi, India last January.

Laylo defeated FM Paulo Bersamina and Causo, while Dimakiling outplayed IM Ronald Dableo and GM Richard Bitoon to share second to third places with 8.5 points. The two pocketed P20,000 each.

Emmanuel Senador outclassed Roel Abelgas and Bersamina in the final two rounds to clinch solo fourth place and P10,000 with eight points.

IM Rolando Nolte and Paragua wound up fifth and sixth, respectively, with 7.5 points.

Nolte crushed Fernando Bustamante in the 10th round and NM Efren Bagamasbad in the final round.

Paragua, one of five GMs in the field, won over Esmael Abas, FM Adrian Pacis, FM Yves Ranola and Barbosa in the final four rounds.

Completing the Top 10 are Causo, seventh, with seven points; and Bersamina, GM Rogelio Antonio Jr. and Dableo, eighth to 10th with 6.5 points.

Special prizes were given to Bustamante, who was adjudged top La Unionplayer, top senor and top non-master; Samanta Glo Revita, top female; Ferdinand Perillo, top juior; and Junelle Limpiado, top kiddie.

A total of 51 players saw action in the four-day champion organized by Joseph Dumuk.

Gene Poliarco was the chief arbiter, while Patrick Lee and Ilann Perez were the assistant arbiters.


Chess Daily News from Susan Polgar
Tags: ,